Six suburban mayors have won their seats by acclamation Friday as nominations closed for the Nov. 1 municipal elections.

Five of the six mayors are returning to their posts for another four years: Maria Tutino of Baie D'Urfe, Anthony Housefather of Cote-Saint-Luc, Edgar Rouleau of Dorval, John Meaney of Kirkland and Bill McMurchie of Pointe-Claire.

Peter Trent has been re-instated as mayor of Westmount after a two-term sabbatical from politics. Trent resigned from office after the 2002 municipal merger.

The race is still on in other suburban cities:

- Beaconsfield: incumbent Bob Benedetti is challenged by Hela Labene and David Pollock

- Dollard-des-Ormeaux: incumbent Ed Janiszewski is challenged by Shameen Siddiqui

- Hampstead: incumbent William Steinberg is challenged by David Sternthal

- Montreal-East: incumbent Robert Coutu is challenged by Yvon Labrosse

- Montreal-West: Beny Masella and Emile Subirana will vie for the mayoral post

- Mont-Royal: incumbent Vera Danyluk is challenged by Andre Krepec

- Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue: incumbent Bill Tierney is challenged by Francis Deroo

- Senneville: incumbent George McLeish is challenged by Christopher Jackson