Three Montreal-area mayors have won re-election the easy way: by acclamation.

Anthony Housefather of Cote St. Luc, Peter Trent of Westmount and Ed Janiszewski of Dollard des Ormeaux will also continue in their current positions for a new term, as nobody stepped up to challenge for the position.

The nomination period for the Nov. 3rd election ended at 4:30 p.m. Friday.


Trent, 67, was first elected as councillor in 1983 and became mayor in 1991.

Trent left politics during the one-island-one-city municipal merger of 2002 but returned to be re-elected after the demerger in 2009, replacing Karen Marks, who retired from the post.

He has most recently overseen a large-scale rebuilding of the city's indoor arena and outdoor swimming pool.

Along with Trent, Westmount council candidates Victor Drury and Nicole Forbes have won by acclamation.

There are, however, some battles going on: incumbent Westmount city councilors Patrick Martin, Kathleen Duncan, and Theodora Samiotis will battle Julia Carbone Gold, Rosalind Davis and Andrei Jones, respectively. Incumbent Cynthia Lulham will be challenged by both Nigel Goddard and Mavis Young.

Philip Cutler and Peter Star will compete for one Westmount council seat while John Fretz and Christina Smith are fighting for another.


Cote St. Luc

In Cote St. Luc Mayor Anthony Housefather and councillors Steven Erdelyi, Dida Berku, Allan J. Levine, Mitchell Brownstein, Glenn J. Nashen and Ruth Kovac were all acclaimed. Councillor Sam Goldbloom is being challenged by Marissa Sidel and Stewart Wiseman.

Montreal West

Montreal West Mayor Beny Masella is being challenged by Asher Waldman and Simon Phillipson,

Julie Tasker-Brown, Jon. C. Dunn and Linda Hammerschmid are candidates for seat number one, Elizabeth Ulin and Sharon McCarry fight for seat number two, Colleen Feeney, Julien Feldman and Peter Kerr will compete for seat three and Maria Torres and Joseph McKenzie run for seat four.

Dollard des Ormeaux

Ed Janiszewski will also serve another mandate as mayor of Dollard. The 79-year-old has served as mayor of Dollard des Ormeaux since replacing Gerry Weiner in 1984. He is the city's sixth mayor since its incorporation in 1960 and leads a council of eight city councillors.